The 15th International Conference on Computer Supported Cooperative Work in Design SCWD 2011,June 8-10, 2011,Lausanne,Switzerland



Design of complex artifacts and systems requires the cooperation of multidisciplinary design teams. The 2011 15th International Conference on Computer Supported Cooperative Work in Design (CSCWD 2011) provides a forum for researchers and practitioners involved in different but related domains to confront research results and discuss key problems.

In conjunction with CSCWD 2011, the 13th ISMICK symposium (International Symposium on the Management of Industrial and Corporate Knowledge) will be held in the same premisses and is open to the CSCWD delegates for a small additional fee. The main theme this year concerns knowledge & Technology Transfers, Cooperation and Multicultural Problems. More information is available on the ISMICK web site. The ISMICK symposium is a further activity of the SMC CSCWD Technical Committee and takes place on June 8-9 2011 in conjunction with CSCWD 2011 in Lausanne.

You can download the CSCWD 2011 call as apdf file.


Original papers are solicited in the areas mentioned in the following non-exhaustive list:

• Techniques, methods, and tools for CSCW in design

• Knowledge intensive cooperative design

• User modeling for cooperative design

• Agents and multi-agent systems for cooperative design

• Workflows for cooperative design

• Virtual Reality technologies for cooperative design

• Grids, Web services and semantic Web for cooperative design

• Mobile collaboration and applications

• Collaborative wireless sensor networks and applications

• Collaborative networks and applications

• Collaboration in manufacturing, services, and businesses

• Distance learning/training related to design

• Practice and experience with collaborative systems

• Other areas related to CSCW in design


The conference will take place at Musée Olympique in Lausanne, Switzerland. The city of Lausanne is located at the shores of the lovely Lake of Geneva facing the magnificent alpine mountains. Its rich history goes back to the first settlements at ~6000 BC. Today, the city is an important economic center hosting many international enterprises. It is home to many educational institutions including the University of Lausanne and EPFL. The cultural live is reknowed to be very rich and features world famous performances such as those of Béjart Ballet . Since 1993 the city of Lausanne wears the title of Olympic Capital.


Lausanne can be reached easily by train or car. It is connected with Geneva international airport (GVA) by a frequent train service (~5 connections per hour, travel time 45 mins). Note that Geneva airport is a main hub of the easyJet low cost airline. Alternatively, Lausanne can be reached from the Zurich international airport (ZRH) using the frequent train service right from the airport (every 30 minutes, travel time 2h30). The railway stations at both airports arellocated right under the airport terminalsl.

People coming from France might consider taking the TGV train service to Geneva or Lausanne (less than 4 hours from Paris).

You can reach Lausanne by train. The Swiss Federal Railways (CFF in French, SBB in German) offer direct trains from Geneva and Zurich airport to Lausanne. Travel duration is approximately 45 minutes from Geneva and 2h30 from Zurich.


General Conference Chair

Peter Kropf (University of Neuchatel, Switzerland)

Conference Co-Chairs

Michel Pouly (EPFL, Switzerland)

Tetsuo Tomiyama (TUDelft, The Netherlands)

Jano Moreira de Souza (UFRJ, Brazil)

Program Committee Chairs

Weiming Shen (NRC/UWO, Canada)

Jean-Paul Barthès (UTC, France)

Junzhou Luo (SEU, China)

Jianming Yong (USQ, Australia)

Organizing Committee Chair

Michel Pouly (EPFL, Switzerland)

Publication Chair

Yunjiao Xue (UWO, Canada)

International Steering Committee

Honorary Chair:

Zongkai Lin (China)


Jean-Paul Barthès ( France)


Junzhou Luo, (China)

Weiming Shen (Canada)


Jianming Yong (Australia)


Marcos Borges (Brazil)

Kuo-Ming Chao (UK)

Jano Moreira de Souza (Brazil)

Susan Finger (USA)

Ning Gu (China)

Anne James (UK)

Peter Kropf (Switzerland)

Hwa Gyoo Park (Korea)

José A. Pino (Chile)

Tetsuo Tomiyama (The Netherlands)

Yun Yang (Australia)

Qinghua Zheng (China)

Program Committee

Program Committee Chairs

Weiming Shen (NRC/UWO, Canada)

Jean-Paul Barthès (UTC, France)

Junzhou Luo (SEU, China)

Jianming Yong (USQ, Australia)


Hamideh Afsarmanesh (NL)

Rachid Anane (UK)

Pedro Antunes (PT)

Fahrad Arbab (NL)

Mert Bal (USA)

Nelson Baloian (CL)

Jinian Bian (CA)

Marcos Borges (BR)

Crescencio Bravo (ES)

Patrick Brezillon (FR)

Luis Camarinha-Matos (PT)

Stephen Chan (HK)

Kuo-Ming Chao (UK)

Soumaya Cherkaoui (CA)

Chih-Hsing Chu (TW)

Graham Coates (UK)

Ruth Cobos (ES)

Jose Cordeiro (PT)

Sharon Cox (UK)

Bertrand David (FR)

Jano de Souza (BR)

Jinxiang Dong (CN)

Fabricio Enembreck (BR)

Shaw Feng (USA)

Jinan Fiaidhi (CA)

Susan Finger (USA)

Giancarlo Fortino (IT)

Jean-Marc Frayret (CA)

Xiufen Fu (CN)

Jerry Fuh (SG)

Rajit Gadh (USA)

Robert Gajewski (PL)

Liang Gao (CN)

Shuming Gao (CN)

Ricardo Goncalves (PT)

Nathan Griffiths (UK)

Ning Gu (CN)

Soonhung Han (KR)

Qi Hao (CA)

Igor Hawryszkiewycz (AU)

Fazhi He (CN)

David Hicks (DK)

Yeh-Liang Hsu (TW)

Bin Hu (UK)

Geroge Huang (HK)

Dieter Hutter (DE)

Tomoo Inoue (JP)

Rahat Iqbal (UK)

Mike Jackson (UK)

Anne James (UK)

Pingyu Jiang (CN)

Toshiya Kaihara (JP)

Irina Kondratova (CA)

Peter Kropf (CH)

Jean-Christophe Lapayre (FR)

Lai-Chung Lee (TW)

Tae-Eog Lee (KR)

Weidong Li (UK)

Wenfeng Li (CN)

Xiaoping Li (CN)

Yingguang Li (CN)

Yinsheng Li (CN)

Wenhe Liao (CN)

Kecheng Liu (UK)

Qiang Liu (CN)

Xiaoping Liu (CN)

Junzhou Luo (CN)

Yuhua Luo (ES)

Huadong Ma (CN)

Yonsheng Ma (CA)

KL Mak (HK)

Zakaria Mammar (AE)

Tsutomu Matsumoto (JP)

Sergio Palma Medeiros (BR)

Xiangxu Meng (CN)

Bernhard Mitschang (DE)

Sabah Mohammed (CA)

Andrew Nee (SG)

Vincent Ng (HK)

Sergio Ochoa (CL)

Eugenio Oliveira (PT)

Hwa Gyoo Park (KR)

Seong-Whan Park (KR)

Willy Picard (PL)

Jose Pino (CL)

Michel Pouly (CH)

Felix Ramos (MX)

Milton Ramos (BR)

Ramana Reddy (USA)

Miguel Redondo ((ES)

Debbie Richards (AU)

Flavia Santoro (BR)

Abdallah Shami (CA)

Jun Shen (AU)

Lianguan Shen (CN)

Leonid Sheremetov (MX)

Carla Simone (IT)

Giuseppe Stecca (IT)

Daizhong Su (UK)

Kenji Sugawara (JP)

Chengzheng Sun (SG)

Yuqing Sun (CN)

Cesar Tacla (BR)

Jianrong Tan (CN)

WenAn Tan (CN)

Dunbing Tang (CN)

Yong Tang (CN)

Georgios Theodoropoulos (UK)

Indira Thouvenin (FR)

Tetsuo Tomiyama (NL)

Amy Trappey (TW)

Jean-Yves Trepanier (CA)

Brigitte Trousse (FR)

Adriana Vivacqua (BR)

Chun Wang (CA)

Lihui Wang (SE)

Qianping Wang (CN)

Weigang Wang (UK)

Xiangyu Wang (AU)

Ruizhong Wei (CA)

Deyi Xue (CA)

Jun Yan (AU)

Yuhong Yan (CA)

Yun Yang (AU)

Jianming Yong (AU)

Hyun Joong Yoon (KR)

Muhammad Younas (UK)

Jason Yu (TW)

You Yu (FI)

Mattew Yuen (HK)

ong Zeng (CA)

Xuanfang Zha (USA)

Chris Zhang (CA)

Dan Zhang (CA)

Heming Zhang (CN)

Xiaodong Zhang (CN)

Xiaokun Zhang (CA)

Yunfeng Zhang (SG)

Qinghua Zheng (CN)

Haibin Zhu (CA)

Khaldoun Zreik (FR)

Travel Information

Lausanne is located in a very scenic region, offering ample sightseeing opportunities. You may enjoy strolling along the shores of Lake Geneva or take a boat ride. You could visit one of the many small, wine-growing villages offering excellent local wines. A walk through the old vineyards, with views of the lake and surrounding mountains, is an unforgettable event, at just 10 min. by train from Lausanne. You may also take a train into the mountains, which are more than 4500m high, and enjoy the gorgeous panorama views.